Thai Basil Lentils with Sweet Potato

Standard
Thai Basil Lentils with Sweet Potato

I’m pretty sure the husband is getting massively sick of vegetarian meals. I promised him that tomorrow night I’d cook some beef, but tonight it’s just going to be all about me and my love for this bowl of straight-up awesomeness.

I’m also pretty sure that you’re getting sick of all of the lentil recipes, but you’re just going to have to deal with it because that is how my life works. I get completely obsessed with something (in this case, lentils) and then go so completely overboard that I get sick of it. Lately my obsessions have been Thai food (well, that one is more like a five-year-and-counting obsession), mint, lime, and cilantro. No joke, if I have some lime and cilantro in my house I am totally set. I can make Thai Food or Mexican Food with those two ingredients and that comprises about 80% of my diet anyway.

Okay, back to the Thai Lentils.

Neither words nor pictures can do this dish justice. Oh. Em. Gee. Deliciousness, my friends. Deliciousness.

ThaiLentils4

Tender little lentils cozy up so nicely with earthy sweet potatoes and smooth coconut milk. Every mouthful is just bursting with bright basil, ginger, and a hint of Thai chilies.

ThaiLentils6I’m so glad I made a huge pot of this because I’m planning on having it for lunch for the next six years. This is delicious over rice, but is also nice on it’s own if you forgot to make some while you were cooking this (not mentioning any names here…. but it was me).

You know I couldn’t help but come up with another 30-minute, one-pot meal, right? Whatever, some of us have jobs, okay? No need to call me lazy.

ThaiLentils2

While I was making this I was talking to the food like the way Stan’s dad did in that one South Park episode. You know which one I’m talking about, right?

ThaiLentils1

I’m pretty sure that at one point I said out loud “Oh, yeah. I’m going to de-glaze the s#*! out of this pan.” Well if you haven’t seen that episode you probably think I’m crazy right now, but the point is that I got really into this as it was cooking. It smelled absolutely heavenly.

ThaiLentils3I prefer my lentils to be on the softer-side, so by the time I had stirred everything into this dish and let it simmer they were practically reduced to mush. Ah, perfect. If you like yours a bit firmer, just cook them for less time.

I’m always here for you when you need super obvious cooking advice.

I hope that by this point I’ve convinced you that this is delicious and you should really make it, like, tonight. If not, then I’m not sure why you’re still reading at this point.

So…. let’s just assume you’re going to make this. Tonight.

You’ll be needing the recipe:

Makes: 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup lentils, sorted and rinsed
  • 4 cups fresh baby spinach leaves
  • 4 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth if you’re into that sort of thing)
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 2 Thai chiles, ribs and seeds removed, minced
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger, peeled
  • 2/3 cup light coconut milk
  • 3 tablespoons fresh basil, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. In a large dutch oven (or other heavy bottomed pot), heat your butter and oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Once your oil is hot, add the onions, chilies, and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, for 2 minutes.
  2. Add in your broth, potatoes, and lentils and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20-25 minutes until the sweet potatoes can be cut with a fork but haven’t turned to mush.
  3. Add in the can of tomatoes and the turmeric, then grate your ginger directly into the pot. Let the mixture cook for another 3 minutes or so, then stir in your coconut milk and spinach. Once your spinach is wilted and your dish is heated through, remove from heat and serve over rice. Top with fresh basil.

ThaiLentils5

Nutrition (per serving):

289 calories, 16 g. fat, 5 g. protein, 28 g. carbs, 5 g. fiber. WW PointsPlus: 7

3 responses »

  1. This looks delicious. I never have creative ways to use sweet potatoes. It looks like a hearty dish but not so heavy that it can’t be enjoyed on a cool summer night. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

