Moroccan Mint Tea

Standard
Moroccan Mint Tea

In an attempt to use up the massive amount of mint I purchased at the Farmer’s Market last week, I decided to make homemade Moroccan Mint Tea to go with the Moroccan Lentil Soup.

mntt1

This was so simple I was shocked that it never before occurred to me to make mint tea from fresh leaves.

mntt6Essentially I just boiled water, added some mint leaves, let it steep, then added sugar.

mntt4This was so delicious I drank four cups and then couldn’t sleep because of the sugar. It complimented my soup perfectly and was wonderfully refreshing. Plus, it was a great way to use up some of those mint leaves!

Here’s the recipe:

Makes: 4 Cups

Ingredients:

  • 4 Cups water
  • 20 mint leaves
  • 3 Tbsp. Sugar

Directions:

  1. Boil water.
  2. Reduce to simmer, add mint leaves, wait five minutes.
  3. Strain mint leaves.
  4. Add sugar, stir, pour into cups.
  5. Drink it.

I told you it was easy, right?

mntt3

This is definitely going to become a regular thing at our house.

mntt2

Nutrition (per serving):

36 calories, 0 g. fat, 42 g. protein, 9 g. carbs, 0 g. fiber. WW PointsPlus: 1

3 responses »

  1. I discovered fresh mint leaf tea when they served it to me at Café Gratitude. It was soooo good! I’ve been thinking about making it since then, but still haven’t done it. Thanks to your post, I’m now inspired. Celeste 🙂

Leave a Reply

