Chicken & Coconut Milk Spiced with Garam Masala

Standard
Chicken & Coconut Milk Spiced with Garam Masala

Chicken and coconut milk spiced with curry powder and Garam Masala.

Chicken & Coconut Milk spiced with Garam Masala

Chicken & Coconut Milk spiced with Garam Masala

Tonight was one of those nights where I barely got dinner on the table at all. I called the husband while I was commuting home to hint at the idea of going out to dinner. He had a long day and just wanted to sit on the couch and relax, so I pulled myself together and made dinner.

I didn’t have anything planned for tonight so I had to get creative. Among the other strange things residing in my fridge and pantry, I scrounged up some chicken breast, tomato, onion, coconut milk, rice, and spices.

I buy onions in bulk and keep them in a big bowl on my counter. I find that they are a great way to bulk up dishes without adding a lot of calories. Plus, they’re cheap!

onions

I had tomato leftover from making some grilled flatbread pizzas and just happened to have a chicken breast thawing in the fridge.

I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and garam masala, then seared it quickly in some olive oil and chopped garlic.

I threw in some chopped tomato and sliced onion and let everything get steamy.

cozyAfter the vegetables got some good color on them I added a can of light coconut milk (feel free to use full fat if you are into that sort of thing), some curry powder, and more garam masala. I let it simmer for about fifteen minutes while my rice was cooking then adjusted salt and pepper to taste.

with milk

Quick, easy, low-fat, and delicious!

curryHere’s how I did it:

Makes: 4 servings, 1 cup each

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 oz. chicken breasts (I used one big’un)
  • One can light coconut milk
  • Half a large tomato, cut into large chunks
  • Half a large yellow onion, sliced
  • 3 Tbsp. Garam Masala
  • 2 tsp. Curry Powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil (coconut oil works great if you have it!)
  • Cilantro for garnish

Directions:

  1. Thinly slice the chicken breast into bite-sized pieces and season with salt, pepper, and 1 Tbsp. garam masala.
  2. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Once hot, add garlic and cook for 30 seconds.
  3. Turn the heat up to medium-high and add chicken. Sear until brown on both sides.
  4. Add tomatoes and onion and stir to coat in spices.
  5. Add additional 2 Tbsp. garam masala and the curry powder. Stir and let the spices toast in the oil.
  6. Add the can of coconut milk and stir until spices are incorporated into the liquid.
  7. Bring the mixture to a boil and let cook for about a minute.
  8. Using the back of a wooden spoon, smash the cooked tomatoes to release their juices into the coconut milk.
  9. Reduce heat to simmer and let cook for fifteen-twenty minutes or until thickened.
  10. Taste and adjust salt and pepper as needed.
  11. Garnish with cilantro and serve over rice.

Nutrition (per 1 cup serving):

194 calories, 15 g. fat, 10 g. protein, 5 g. carbs, 2 g. fiber. WW PointsPlus: 5

What’s your go-to weeknight dish? What do you always have in your pantry for “dinner emergencies”?

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cozy Coconut Sauce over Rice | aMangé

  2. Pingback: Garam Masala Chicken | hello hungry ones

  3. Pingback: Kumbh Mutter Masala with a Shahi twist to it..! | Keli Paan

Leave a Reply

